Difference between revisions of "Unenrolment"

Jump to: navigation, search

Note: You are currently viewing documentation for Moodle 2.2. Up-to-date documentation for the latest stable version is available here: Unenrolment.

(update)
(copied from 2.3 docs)
 
(6 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 3: Line 3:
  
 
* The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
 
* The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
* For self enrolment, the ''longtimenosee'' setting in ''Settings > Site administration > Plugins > Enrolments > Self enrolment'' can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
+
* For self enrolment, the 'Unenrol inactive after' setting in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment'' can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
 
* An [[Enrolment plugins|enrolment plugin]] may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron
 
* An [[Enrolment plugins|enrolment plugin]] may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron
  
In addition, users with the unenrolself capability can unenrol themself from a course.  
+
In addition, users with the appropriate permission can unenrol themself from a course.  
  
 
==Enrolment duration==
 
==Enrolment duration==
Line 14: Line 14:
 
The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment''.
 
The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment''.
  
 +
==Bulk unenrolment==
 +
 +
Users who were previously manually enrolled may be unenrolled in bulk via ''Settings > Course administraton > Users > Enrolment methods'' then clicking on the 'Enrol' users icon.
 +
 +
==Unenrolment and user data==
 +
 +
When a user is unenrolled, their grades are not deleted. If a user is unenrolled accidentally, their grades can be restored by going to ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users'', clicking 'Enrol users' and making sure that the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox is ticked in the enrolment options before re-enrolling the user.
 +
 +
==See also==
 +
[http://www.screencast.com/t/XtPhA6w2SM Screencast: how to bulk unenrol students from a course.]
 
[[Category:Site administration]]
 
[[Category:Site administration]]
  
 
[[eu:Desmatrikulatzea]]
 
[[eu:Desmatrikulatzea]]
 
[[fr:Désinscription]]
 
[[fr:Désinscription]]
 +
[[de:Abmelden aus einem Kurs]]

Latest revision as of 13:59, 3 August 2012

Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:

  • The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
  • For self enrolment, the 'Unenrol inactive after' setting in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
  • An enrolment plugin may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron

In addition, users with the appropriate permission can unenrol themself from a course.

Enrolment duration

The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users.

The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment.

Bulk unenrolment

Users who were previously manually enrolled may be unenrolled in bulk via Settings > Course administraton > Users > Enrolment methods then clicking on the 'Enrol' users icon.

Unenrolment and user data

When a user is unenrolled, their grades are not deleted. If a user is unenrolled accidentally, their grades can be restored by going to Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users, clicking 'Enrol users' and making sure that the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox is ticked in the enrolment options before re-enrolling the user.

See also

Screencast: how to bulk unenrol students from a course.