Unenrolment

Revision as of 13:43, 7 March 2013 by Mary Cooch (talk | contribs) (suspended versus unenrolled)

Jump to: navigation, search

Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:

  • The enrolment duration, which suspends students after the specified time has elapsed. Some plugins include the option to unenrol users after enrolment expiration
  • For self enrolment, the 'Unenrol inactive after' setting in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
  • An enrolment plugin may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, if a user for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron.

In addition, users with the appropriate permission can unenrol themself from a course.

Enrolment duration

The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users.

The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment.

Bulk unenrolment

Users who were previously manually enrolled may be unenrolled in bulk via Settings > Course administraton > Users > Enrolment methods then clicking on the 'Enrol' users icon.

Unenrolment and grade history

When a user is unenrolled, their grade history is not deleted. If a user is unenrolled accidentally, their grades can be restored by going to Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users, clicking 'Enrol users' and making sure that the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox is ticked in the enrolment options before re-enrolling the user.

Suspended or Unenrolled?

Suspended users are not longer able to access their courses on Moodle but their data is preserved, so it is possible for them to return to their course at a later time. This might be useful for example, for keeping safe the work of students who have left the establishment but whose data might be needed for inspection in future years. Suspended users currently still appear in the gradebook.

Note: A single user may be suspended by editing their profile and selecting "Suspended account". Groups of users may be suspended from "Users>Enrolled users". With the manual enrolments selected, choose "Edit user enrolments" and "Alter status>Suspended"

Unenrolled users do not normally retain any data and will not appear in the gradebook. However, see #Unenrolment and grade history


See also

Screencast: how to bulk unenrol students from a course.