Difference between revisions of "Unenrolment"

Jump to: navigation, search
(updated longtimenosee)
(update)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{Course enrolment}}
 
{{Course enrolment}}
<p class="note">'''Please refer to [[Page_notes#Course enrolment |these notes]] before editing this page.'''</p>
+
Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:
  
Unenrolment is the process of not allowing a student to return to a course.  Usually this process does not purge student information, just access.
+
* The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
 +
* For self enrolment, the ''longtimenosee'' setting in ''Settings > Site administration > Plugins > Enrolments > Self enrolment'' can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
 +
* An [[Enrolment plugins|enrolment plugin]] may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron
  
==Site and course settings for unenrolment==
+
In addition, users with the unenrolself capability can unenrol themself from a course.
  
Unenrolment can be controlled by the following:
+
==Enrolment duration==
*The ''longtimenosee'' setting in'' Settings>Site administration>plugins>Enrolments>Self enrolment'' can  be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it for a long time.
 
* The ''Enrolment duration'' in the [[Course_settings|course settings]], which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed.
 
* An [[Enrolment plugins]] may decide that the enrolment has expired. For example, a user name  for a course is not present in an [[LDAP enrolment|LDAP]] database, or if a [[Flat file]] is processed by Cron.
 
* The capability [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]], which allows a user to unassign themself from a role in the given context (see below).
 
  
==Student unenrolment==
+
The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment''. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users''.
  
By default, students are unable to unenrol themselves from courses.
+
The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment''.
  
To enable students to unenrol themselves from any course on the site that they are enrolled on:
+
[[Category:Site administration]]
#Access ''Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles''.
 
#Click the edit icon opposite the student role.
 
#Change the [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] capability from not set to allow.
 
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
 
 
 
To enable students to unenrol themselves from a particular course:[[Image:Course admin block showing unenrol link.png|frame|Course administration block for a student, showing unenrol link]]
 
#Follow the Assign roles link in the course administration block.
 
#Follow the "Override roles" link. (In Moodle 1.9 onwards, click the "Override permissions" tab.)
 
#Select the Student role.
 
#Set the capability [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] to allow.
 
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
 
 
 
Note: By default, only administrators are able to override permissions. Instructions on enabling teachers to override permissions can be found in [[Override permissions]].
 
 
 
The role change will take effect immediately in Moodle 1.9, or when students next login in Moodle 1.7 and 1.8. Students will have an "Unenrol me from the course" link in the course administration block and an "Unenrol me from the course" button on their profile page.
 
 
 
==Teacher unenrolment==
 
 
 
By default, teachers may unenrol themselves from courses in which they are assigned the role of teacher.
 
 
 
To prevent teachers from unenrolling themselves by mistake:
 
 
 
#Access ''Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles''.
 
#Click the edit icon opposite the teacher role.
 
#Change the [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] capability from allow to not set.
 
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
 
 
 
==See also==
 
 
 
*[[Enrolment plugins]]
 
*[[Enrolment FAQ]]
 
 
 
[[Category:Enrolment]]
 
  
 
[[eu:Desmatrikulatzea]]
 
[[eu:Desmatrikulatzea]]
 
[[fr:Désinscription]]
 
[[fr:Désinscription]]

Revision as of 11:31, 9 September 2011

Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:

  • The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
  • For self enrolment, the longtimenosee setting in Settings > Site administration > Plugins > Enrolments > Self enrolment can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
  • An enrolment plugin may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron

In addition, users with the unenrolself capability can unenrol themself from a course.

Enrolment duration

The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users.

The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment.