MoodleTxt: Managing Address Books
MoodleTxt allows you to create your own address books of contacts for sending messages to. These are generally contacts who do not have accounts within the Moodle system themselves, such as the parents of students.
Your existing address books (if you have any) are displayed at the top of the page. Clicking on the name of an address book will open it for browsing and editing on another page. The icon next to an address book indicates whether it is a private or global addressbook.
- Private Address Books
- These are address books visible only to you, and can only have messages sent to them from your account.
- Global Address Books
- These are visible to all users within the Moodle system, and messages can be sent to them from anywhere. However, the address book can still only be edited/maintained by you.
Adding a New Address Book
Adding a new address book to MoodleTxt is simple. Under the Add a new address book heading, type the name of the new address book into the box labelled "Address book name". Below that, select whether you want the address book to be private (only usable by you) or global (usable by anyone).
When you are happy with your selections, click the "Add" button below the form. The page will refresh, and your new address book should appear in the list at the top of the page, along with a short success message indicating that the address book was saved to the database successfully. You can now click into the address book and begin adding contacts to it.
Deleting an Existing Address Book
This section allows you to permanently delete an address book from the MoodleTxt block, or optionally merge it into another existing address book.
Firstly, select the address book you wish to delete from the first drop-down box in this section. Next, you have the option to either delete the contacts in the address book, or merge them into another one. If you select the first option, then when the address book is deleted, all contacts and contact groups within it will also be permanently deleted. If you select the second option, then when the address book is deleted, all of its contacts and groups will be moved into another address book within the system. In order to use this option, you must select the destination address book from the second drop-down list provided.
Once you are happy with the options selected, click the "Delete/Merge" button below the form. The page will be refreshed, and your selected address book should have been removed from the list of existing address books at the top of the page. A short notification message should also be displayed, indicating that the address book was successfully deleted from the database.