Overview
An administrator can browse and search the list of all user accounts in Site administration > Users > Accounts > Browse list of users.

Each user is listed with their profile picture and details. You can filter the list to find particular users or groups of users, then select them and choose a bulk action from the With selected users... menu below the list (see Bulk user actions), such as sending a message, forcing a password change, adding to a cohort or deleting.
Actions for a single user are in the Actions menu (⋮) opposite their name, where you can edit, suspend, activate or delete the account.
If you are using Email-based self-registration, users who haven't confirmed their account show Confirmation pending next to their name. To confirm the account for them, or to send the confirmation email again, click the Actions menu (⋮) and choose Confirm account or Resend confirmation email.
Filters
You can search for users using particular criteria by clicking Filters. Text filters, such as First name or Email address, offer the following limits:
- Is any value
- Contains
- Does not contain
- Is equal to
- Is not equal to
- Starts with
- Ends with
- Is empty
- Is not empty
For example, to find John Smith, select Contains for First name and enter John, select Contains for Last name and enter Smith, then click Apply.

Using wildcards
With the Contains and Does not contain limits, you can use two wildcards:
*(asterisk) represents zero, one or more characters?(question mark) represents a single character
For example, with Contains, A?B finds users with an A, then any single character, then a B (such as AxB or A2B, but not AxxB).
To search for an actual asterisk or question mark, put a backslash in front of it: \* or \?. The percent sign (%) and underscore (_) are not wildcards and are matched as typed. With the other limits, such as Is equal to or Starts with, * and ? are also matched as typed.
Deleting an account
To delete an account, click the Actions menu (⋮) opposite the user's name, choose Delete, then confirm.
When an account is deleted, the MD5 hash of the username is stored as the email address. The email address + timestamp for when the account was deleted is stored as the username.
| Warning: Deleting an account results in user data being permanently deleted. If you wish to retain any data, you should instead suspend the user's account. |
If an account is deleted by mistake, it can be partially restored by resetting the deleted flag to zero in the database and resetting the username and email address. User profile details, user preferences, enrolments, and group and cohort membership data cannot be recovered. Grades may be recovered by re-enrolling the user into their courses and ticking the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox in the enrolment options. Forum posts are not deleted. Files linked to submitted assignments are not deleted.
Suspending an account
An account can be suspended as follows:
- Click the Actions menu (⋮) opposite the user's name
- Click the 'Suspend user account' item
Suspended user accounts cannot log in or use web services, and any outgoing messages are discarded. To reactivate a suspended account, choose 'Activate user account' from the same menu.