Unenrolment

Revision as of 13:37, 22 February 2008 by Helen Foster (talk | contribs) (See also: link added)

Jump to: navigation, search

Unenrolment is controlled by the following:

  • The longtimenosee variable in Administration > Configuration > Variables (or Administration > Server > Cleanup in 1.8), which specifies the time limit for which, if students haven't logged in, they are unenrolled from courses.
  • The Enrolment duration in the course settings, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed.
  • Enrolment plugins may decide that the enrolment has expired; for example, if it is not present or current in an LDAP, Database or SIS server.
  • The capability moodle/role:unassignself, which allows a user to unassign themself from a role in the given context (see below).

Student unenrolment

By default, students are unable to unenrol themselves from courses.

To enable students to unenrol themselves from any course on the site that they are enrolled on:

  1. Access Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles.
  2. Click the edit icon opposite the student role.
  3. Change the moodle/role:unassignself capability from not set to allow.
  4. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.

To enable students to unenrol themselves from a particular course:

  1. Follow the Assign roles link in the course administration block.
  2. Follow the "Override roles" link. (In Moodle 1.9 onwards, click the "Override permissions" tab.)
  3. Select the Student role.
  4. Set the capability moodle/role:unassignself to allow.
  5. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.

Note: By default, only administrators are able to override permissions. Instructions on enabling teachers to override permissions can be found in Override permissions.

The role change will take effect immediately in Moodle 1.9, or when students next login in Moodle 1.7 and 1.8. Students will have an "Unenrol me from the course" link in the course administration block and an "Unenrol me from the course" button on their profile page.

Teacher unenrolment

By default, teachers may unenrol themselves from courses in which they are assigned the role of teacher.

To prevent teachers from unenrolling themselves by mistake:

  1. Access Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles.
  2. Click the edit icon opposite the teacher role.
  3. Change the moodle/role:unassignself capability from allow to not set.
  4. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.

See also