Unenrolment

Revision as of 12:27, 10 September 2007 by chris collman (talk | contribs) (Administrator-Teacher enrolment control only: links)

Jump to: navigation, search

Each Moodle site may have a different policy for student enrolment and unenrolment in a course.

Administrator-Teacher enrolment control only

In some sites users assigned a Teacher, Course Creator or Administrator role are the only ones permitted to enrol and/or unenrol participants in a course. This is usually done in on the homepage of the course using the People block and the Participant link. The Student page has more information about teachers enrolling and unrolment.

Student enrolment allowed

To unenrol from a course, a student needs to:

  1. Go to the course.
  2. In the Administration block, click on the “Unenrol me from …” link (if visible) to unenrol from the current course.

However, by default, this link is visible only to those whose roles are "teacher" or above. There is a good reason for this: Normally, to unenrol, a student is supposed to talk to a teacher or administrator.

If this student self-unenrolment feature is needed, the administrator needs to:

  1. Go to ► Administration ► Users ► Permissions ► Define roles.
  2. Edit Student permissions.
  3. Set Unassign own roles moodle/role:unassignself to "Allow".

NOTE: The administrator can do this for the whole site or just for particular courses by using the roles links in each context. For example, in a course, by clicking on the Override Roles tab and changing the respective settings.

See also