Difference between revisions of "Unenrolment"

Jump to: navigation, search
m (Unenrol moved to Unenrolment)
(re-write, student unenrolment, see also)
Line 1: Line 1:
Each Moodle site may have a different policy for student enrolment and unenrolment in a course.  
+
Unenrolment is controlled by the following:
 +
* The ''longtimenosee'' variable in ''Administration > Configuration > [[Variables]]'' (or ''Administration > Server > Cleanup'' in 1.8), which specifies the time limit for which, if students haven't logged in, they are unenrolled from courses.
 +
* The ''Enrolment duration'' in the [[Settings|course settings]], which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed.
 +
* Enrolment plugins may decide that the enrolment has expired; for example, if it is not present or current in an LDAP, Database or SIS server.
 +
* The capability [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]], which allows a user to unassign themself from a role in the given context (see below).
  
==Administrator-Teacher enrolment control only==
+
==Student unenrolment==
In some sites users assigned a [[Teacher]], [[Course Creator]] or [[Administrator]] [[Roles|role]] are the only ones permitted to enrol and/or unenrol participants in a course.  This is usually done in on the homepage of the course using the [[People block]] and the Participant link.  The [[Student]] page has more information about teachers [[Students#Manual_enrol|enrolling]] and [[Students#Manual_unenrol|unrolment]].
 
  
==Student enrolment allowed==
+
By default, students are unable to unenrol themselves from courses.
To unenrol from a course, a student needs to:
 
# Go to the course.
 
# In the Administration block, click on the “Unenrol me from …” link (if visible) to unenrol from the current course.
 
  
However, by default, this link is visible only to those whose roles are "teacher" or above. There is a good reason for this: Normally, to unenrol, a student is supposed to talk to a teacher or administrator.
+
To enable students to unenrol themselves from any course on the site that they are enrolled on:
 +
#Access ''Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles''.
 +
#Click the edit icon opposite the student role.
 +
#Change the [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] capability from not set to allow.
 +
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
  
If this student self-unenrolment feature is needed, the administrator needs to:
+
To enable students to unenrol themselves from a particular course:
# Go to ► Administration ► Users ► Permissions ► Define roles.
+
#Follow the Assign roles link in the course administration block.
# Edit Student permissions.
+
#Follow the "Override roles" link. (In Moodle 1.9 onwards, click the "Override permissions" tab.)
# Set Unassign own roles moodle/role:unassignself to "Allow".
+
#Select the Student role.
 +
#Set the capability [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] to allow.
 +
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
  
NOTE: The administrator can do this for the whole site or just for particular courses by using the roles links in each context. For example, in a course, by clicking on the Override Roles tab and changing the respective settings.
+
Note: By default, only administrators are able to override permissions. Instructions on enabling teachers to override permissions can be found in [[Override permissions]].
 +
 
 +
The role change will take effect when students next login. Students will have an "Unenrol me from the course" link in the course administration block and an "Unenrol me from the course" button on their profile page.
  
 
==See also==
 
==See also==
[[Category:Student]]
+
*[[Enrolment plugins]]
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Enrolment]]

Revision as of 09:58, 27 November 2007

Unenrolment is controlled by the following:

  • The longtimenosee variable in Administration > Configuration > Variables (or Administration > Server > Cleanup in 1.8), which specifies the time limit for which, if students haven't logged in, they are unenrolled from courses.
  • The Enrolment duration in the course settings, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed.
  • Enrolment plugins may decide that the enrolment has expired; for example, if it is not present or current in an LDAP, Database or SIS server.
  • The capability moodle/role:unassignself, which allows a user to unassign themself from a role in the given context (see below).

Student unenrolment

By default, students are unable to unenrol themselves from courses.

To enable students to unenrol themselves from any course on the site that they are enrolled on:

  1. Access Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles.
  2. Click the edit icon opposite the student role.
  3. Change the moodle/role:unassignself capability from not set to allow.
  4. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.

To enable students to unenrol themselves from a particular course:

  1. Follow the Assign roles link in the course administration block.
  2. Follow the "Override roles" link. (In Moodle 1.9 onwards, click the "Override permissions" tab.)
  3. Select the Student role.
  4. Set the capability moodle/role:unassignself to allow.
  5. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.

Note: By default, only administrators are able to override permissions. Instructions on enabling teachers to override permissions can be found in Override permissions.

The role change will take effect when students next login. Students will have an "Unenrol me from the course" link in the course administration block and an "Unenrol me from the course" button on their profile page.

See also