Note: You are currently viewing documentation for Moodle 3.7. Up-to-date documentation for the latest stable version of Moodle may be available here: Recycle bin.

Difference between revisions of "Recycle bin"

From MoodleDocs
(making this page)
 
(ja link)
 
(18 intermediate revisions by 4 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
{{More features}}
 
==What is the recycle bin?==
 
==What is the recycle bin?==
 
*The recycle bin allows teachers to retrieve course elements they have mistakenly deleted. It also allows those with relevant category permissions to restore deleted courses.
 
*The recycle bin allows teachers to retrieve course elements they have mistakenly deleted. It also allows those with relevant category permissions to restore deleted courses.
 
*If deleted items are not needed, they are automatically permanently deleted after seven days (or a time specified by the admin.)
 
*If deleted items are not needed, they are automatically permanently deleted after seven days (or a time specified by the admin.)
*The recycle bin was the first project funded by the [https://moodleassociation.org/  Moodle Users Association.]
+
*The recycle bin was the first project funded by the [https://moodleassociation.org/  Moodle Users Association].  
  
==How is it set up?==
+
 
*The recycle bin is available by default in all courses and categories, but the link in administration block is only visible once something  has been deleted.
+
{{MediaPlayer | url = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzieh7BYwfE | desc = Recycle bin in Moodle 3.1}}
*Administrators can turn off the reccyle bin and modify the settings from Administration> Admin tools > Recycle bin. Here they can decide how long an item or a course will remain available until it is permanently deleted.
 
  
 
==How does it work?==
 
==How does it work?==
Below is an example using an assignment within a course. The same process works for deleted  courses in categories.
+
===Deleted activities===
  
 
1. Before a course teacher deletes an item, a reminder message appears:
 
1. Before a course teacher deletes an item, a reminder message appears:
Line 15: Line 15:
 
[[File:confirmdeletion.png]]
 
[[File:confirmdeletion.png]]
  
2. If you mistakenly click 'yes', all is not lost. Refresh the page and go to the course admininistration block. The link "Recycle bin" will be visible.
+
2. If you mistakenly click 'yes', all is not lost. After a short while, a 'Recycle bin' link will appear either via the gear menu or in the Administration block (depending upon your theme). (The delay in the 'Recycle bin' link appearing is because it requires the [[Cron|cron]] to run and the page to be refreshed.)
  
 
[[File:courseadminrecylebinlink.png]]
 
[[File:courseadminrecylebinlink.png]]
Line 22: Line 22:
  
 
[[File:recycle bin.png]]
 
[[File:recycle bin.png]]
 +
 +
===Deleted courses===
 +
1. Access the category that the course was in before you accidentally deleted it.
 +
2. From the category administration block, click 'Recycle bin'.
 +
 +
[[File:recyclebinrestorecourse1.png]]
 +
 +
3.Click 'Restore' to restore the deleted course:
 +
 +
[[File:recyclebinrestorecourse2.png]]
 +
 +
==Activity deletion in progress==
 +
 +
A message 'Activity deletion in progress...' is displayed whilst an activity is being deleted.
 +
 +
Note: The [[Cron|cron]] should run every minute to ensure that activities are deleted promptly.
 +
 +
==How is it set up?==
 +
*The recycle bin is available by default in all courses and categories, but the link in the administration block is only visible once something  has been deleted.
 +
*Administrators can modify the settings from "Recycle bin'' in the Site administration, and can decide how long an item or a course will remain available until it is permanently deleted, and make the recycle bin visible in the administration block even when empty. If preferred, the recycle bin can be disabled.
 +
 +
==See also==
 +
 +
* [https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=364368 Can't remove Deletion in progress activities Moodle 3.4] forum discussion
 +
 +
[[es:Papelera de reciclaje]]
 +
[[de:Papierkorb]]
 +
[[ja:ゴミ箱]]

Latest revision as of 15:03, 16 October 2018

What is the recycle bin?

  • The recycle bin allows teachers to retrieve course elements they have mistakenly deleted. It also allows those with relevant category permissions to restore deleted courses.
  • If deleted items are not needed, they are automatically permanently deleted after seven days (or a time specified by the admin.)
  • The recycle bin was the first project funded by the Moodle Users Association.


Recycle bin in Moodle 3.1

How does it work?

Deleted activities

1. Before a course teacher deletes an item, a reminder message appears:

confirmdeletion.png

2. If you mistakenly click 'yes', all is not lost. After a short while, a 'Recycle bin' link will appear either via the gear menu or in the Administration block (depending upon your theme). (The delay in the 'Recycle bin' link appearing is because it requires the cron to run and the page to be refreshed.)

courseadminrecylebinlink.png

3. Click the link and then click the 'restore' icon to retrieve the assignment or other item you accidentally deleted.

recycle bin.png

Deleted courses

1. Access the category that the course was in before you accidentally deleted it. 2. From the category administration block, click 'Recycle bin'.

recyclebinrestorecourse1.png

3.Click 'Restore' to restore the deleted course:

recyclebinrestorecourse2.png

Activity deletion in progress

A message 'Activity deletion in progress...' is displayed whilst an activity is being deleted.

Note: The cron should run every minute to ensure that activities are deleted promptly.

How is it set up?

  • The recycle bin is available by default in all courses and categories, but the link in the administration block is only visible once something has been deleted.
  • Administrators can modify the settings from "Recycle bin in the Site administration, and can decide how long an item or a course will remain available until it is permanently deleted, and make the recycle bin visible in the administration block even when empty. If preferred, the recycle bin can be disabled.

See also