Moodle Workplace Installation
This feature is part of Moodle Workplace, which is available through Moodle Partners.
Moodle Workplace is a package that consists of:
- Moodle LMS of the latest minor version. See download page, you may see the latest official update, for example, 3.7.1, and also latest weekly update, for example, 3.7.1+. Moodle Workplace is always based on the "offficial update" (minor version) that does not have a "+" sign.
- Several core modifications that can be either future core fixes or workplace-only "patches" that allow workplace plugins to "hook in" core functionality
- Number of Workplace plugins, including the theme
New installation of Moodle Workplace can be performed exactly the same way as installation of Moodle LMS of the same version. The server requirements are exactly the same.
However after installation Moodle Workplace the default configuration will be slightly different than after installation of Moodle LMS, namely:
- Default installation language is "English for Workplace (en_wp)" or if your browser uses another language we will try to recommend a matching "Workplace" language pack for you. After installation the non-workplace languages will be hidden if the matching workplace-languages are available.
- The theme will be set to "Workplace" (and not "Boost")
- The default course format will be set to "Workplace list"
- One course category with the name "Default tenant" will be created (instead of "Miscellaneous")
- One tenant with the name "Default tenant" will be created and associated with the "Default tenant" course category
- The capability moodle/category:viewcourselist will be removed from "Authenticated user" and "Guest" roles, however the "Tenant user" role has this capability and all users will be able to access course list in their tenant category. Admin user will belong to "Default tenant"
- "Force login" setting will be set to on
- "Admin bookmarks" block that Moodle LMS adds automatically to all admin pages is not added in Moodle Workplace.
Upgrade from Moodle LMS
Moodle LMS can be upgraded to Moodle Workplace if the version of Moodle LMS is not higher than the version of Moodle Workplace. Moodle Workplace is always built on top of the minor version, so if you use the latest weekly version you might need to wait until the next minor version release in order to upgrade.
Upgrade Moodle LMS to Moodle Workplace the same way as you would upgrade Moodle LMS without git. This means: remove the old code completely except for config.php, copy the new code over, add your plugins.
You must copy both "core" and workplace plugins, otherwise some important functionality will be lost.
After upgrade the following changes will be made:
- The theme will be set to "Workplace"
- The default course format will be set to "Workplace list"
- One tenant with the name "Default tenant" will be created. Hint: if you use language other than English install your respective "Workplace" language pack before upgrade
- If workplace language packs are installed the respective non-workplace language packs will be hidden from language menu.
Please note that other changes that are made during initial installation are not done during upgrade, for example, course category is not renamed, the "Default tenant" is not associated with any course category, the roles are not modified, "Force login" is not set, workplace language packs are not installed. We recommend that you make these changes manually after upgrade
Returning from Workplace to Moodle LMS
Since the majority of Moodle Workplace code is in the plugins, it is possible to return back to Moodle LMS. This process, however, requires more steps than installation or upgrade:
- Login as admin and uninstall each workplace plugin on Site administration>Plugins>Plugins overview page. We don't publish the list of workplace plugins here because it may change over time and this documentation will not be up-to-date. Click on "Additional plugins" link to see them (this list may contain your own plugins too). Some workplace plugins depend on each other and the "uninstall" link will not appear until all dependent plugins are uninstalled. Uninstall all workplace plugins. Even when dependencies are not defined, workplace plugins are not designed to work in isolation from each other. You don't need to uninstall "certificateelement" plugins because they are subplugins of "tool_certificate". Once you uninstall tool_certificate, all suplugins will be uninstalled too.
- Remove all plugins source directories as you uninstall them (otherwise Moodle will try to install them back).
- All core modifications that are done in Workplace package can still be present, your site will still be functional, they will mostly not do anything if workplace plugins are absent. However it will be better if you remove them too. For this perform the normal upgrade process to the Moodle LMS of the same or higher version. This means: remove the old code completely except for config.php, copy the new code over, add your plugins.
- Set back your theme and default course format
- Check roles "Authenticated user" and "Guest" and add back capability to browse list of courses if necessary
- Uninstall workplace language packs, change language settings
- Check the list of roles, if there are some Workplace-related roles left, remove them
What happens with the data after uninstalling workplace:
- All data that was inside the workplace plugins will be completely removed, for example: reports, tenant information and configuration, organisation structure and jobs
- All users, regardelss of their tenants, will still be present, but user allocation to tenants will be deleted, user roles in the context of their course category is removed. All users now can "see each other"
- Configuration of programs and certifications is removed but if some users were already enrolled into some courses via the programs they will stay enrolled as if it was "manual" enrolment method
- Dynamic rules will be deleted, but if some users were already enrolled into courses via dynamic rules, they will remain enrolled
- Courses that were in "workplace list" course format will now be displayed in the new default course format