Difference between revisions of "Reset course"

Jump to: navigation, search
(General Reset Options)
(Gradebook Reset Options)
 
(14 intermediate revisions by 4 users not shown)
Line 19: Line 19:
  
 
== General Reset Options ==
 
== General Reset Options ==
 +
(Before you reset)
 +
You will need to make sure that you back up the information that you have within your course before you reset. When you back up the course make sure that you back it up with the user information. That  way you will have a back up data on the ones that have taken your course before you reset it for another group or department.
 +
 +
===Course start date===
  
 
You can set a new Course Start Date for the freshly reset course, delete all Calendar events, comments,  course AND activity completion data and user notes attached to the course. Note that course logs are not deleted (See MDL-43274)
 
You can set a new Course Start Date for the freshly reset course, delete all Calendar events, comments,  course AND activity completion data and user notes attached to the course. Note that course logs are not deleted (See MDL-43274)
  
(Before you reset)
+
''NOTE: If you set a new course start date, then all course dates will be shifted by the same amount.
You will need to make sure that you back up the information that you have within your course before you reset. When you back up the course make sure that you back it up with the user information. That  way you will have a back up data on the ones that have taken your course before you reset it for another group or department.
+
''
  
 
== Role Reset Options ==
 
== Role Reset Options ==
Line 31: Line 35:
 
== Gradebook Reset Options ==
 
== Gradebook Reset Options ==
  
The Gradebook reset options allow you to delete all gradebook items and categories and/or delete all recorded grades within the course. Note that these grades are still recorded against a user's account.
+
The Gradebook reset options allow you to delete all gradebook items and categories and/or delete all recorded grades within the course.
 +
There are two options for gradebook reset:
 +
 
 +
'''Delete all grades''' -  Removes all manually added grade items within the course together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. ''Please note: activity grade items are not removed in this option.''
 +
 
 +
'''Delete all items and categories''' - Remove all categories and related  manually added grade items together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. ''Please note: activity grade items are not removed in this option; activity Maximum Grade values are not removed in this option; however, activity Grade to Pass values are reset to 0.''
 +
 
 +
Note that these grades are still recorded against a user's account.
  
 
== Group Reset Options ==
 
== Group Reset Options ==
Line 43: Line 54:
 
Depending on the activities used within a course, you will be provided with the option to remove the user data associated with these learning objects. This includes responses to Choices, Quiz attempts, Feedback Responses, Forum posts (from selected Forum types), Glossary entries etc.
 
Depending on the activities used within a course, you will be provided with the option to remove the user data associated with these learning objects. This includes responses to Choices, Quiz attempts, Feedback Responses, Forum posts (from selected Forum types), Glossary entries etc.
  
You can remove all attempts from all quizzes.
+
For [[Quiz]] you can:
 +
:remove all attempts
 +
:remove user overrides and group overrides
 +
 
 +
For [[Workshop]] you can:
 +
:delete all submissions
 +
:delete all assessments
 +
:switch to the setup phase
 +
 
 +
For [[Wiki]] you can:
 +
:delete pages
 +
:remove tags and comments
 +
 
  
 
You can also specify a new course start date.
 
You can also specify a new course start date.
Line 50: Line 73:
 
[[fr:Réinitialisation]]
 
[[fr:Réinitialisation]]
 
[[ja:コースのリセット]]
 
[[ja:コースのリセット]]
[[de:Kurs zurücksetzen]]
 

Latest revision as of 21:38, 11 May 2019

Overview

This allows you to empty a course of user data, while retaining the activities and other settings. Please be warned when choosing items you will delete your chosen user data from this course forever!

You can select which user data to remove at a granular level under the categories of General, Roles, Gradebook, Groups and Activity data.

Note: Only users with the reset course capability (by default managers and teachers) can reset a course.

How to Reset - step by step

  1. Log in and go to the course area you want to reset
  2. Resetting a given activity is irreversible, so ensure that you have taken a Backup of your area including the user data - this is a snapshot and can be reinstated if necessary
  3. In your area's Administration block, click on Reset
  4. Click any Show Advanced button to show all options for that category
  5. Make your selections based on the options (see below for more on these)
  6. Click the Reset button
  7. Return to your area and check that things are as you want them.

General Reset Options

(Before you reset) You will need to make sure that you back up the information that you have within your course before you reset. When you back up the course make sure that you back it up with the user information. That way you will have a back up data on the ones that have taken your course before you reset it for another group or department.

Course start date

You can set a new Course Start Date for the freshly reset course, delete all Calendar events, comments, course AND activity completion data and user notes attached to the course. Note that course logs are not deleted (See MDL-43274)

NOTE: If you set a new course start date, then all course dates will be shifted by the same amount.

Role Reset Options

These Role Reset options allow you to unenrol all users with a particular role within a course (e.g students) as well as remove all role overrides and role assignment specific to the course. This does not affect user role assignments outside the context of the course.

Gradebook Reset Options

The Gradebook reset options allow you to delete all gradebook items and categories and/or delete all recorded grades within the course. There are two options for gradebook reset:

Delete all grades - Removes all manually added grade items within the course together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Please note: activity grade items are not removed in this option.

Delete all items and categories - Remove all categories and related manually added grade items together with grades and data on overridden, excluded, hidden and locked grades. Please note: activity grade items are not removed in this option; activity Maximum Grade values are not removed in this option; however, activity Grade to Pass values are reset to 0.

Note that these grades are still recorded against a user's account.

Group Reset Options

The Group reset options provides you with the ability to delete all groups created in the course and/or remove all users from any groups within the course.

You can also delete all groupings created in the course and/or remove all users from any groupings within the course.

Activity Reset Options

Depending on the activities used within a course, you will be provided with the option to remove the user data associated with these learning objects. This includes responses to Choices, Quiz attempts, Feedback Responses, Forum posts (from selected Forum types), Glossary entries etc.

For Quiz you can:

remove all attempts
remove user overrides and group overrides

For Workshop you can:

delete all submissions
delete all assessments
switch to the setup phase

For Wiki you can:

delete pages
remove tags and comments


You can also specify a new course start date.