Course restore

Revision as of 07:41, 13 October 2011 by Helen Foster (talk | contribs) (backup template)

Jump to: navigation, search

This page requires updating. Please do so and remove this template when finished.


Courses can be restored from a backup made by Moodle. Course backups are usually stored in the backupdata folder. There is a restore link next to every course backup.

The backup and restore process is a common way of moving or, copying specific courses from one Moodle to another.

Restoring a course

The backupdata folder
Restoring a course - page 1
Restoring a course - page 2
Restoring a course - page 3

To restore a course from a backup file:

  1. Either upload a backup zip file to your course files area or click Restore in the Course administration block to access the backupdata folder.
  2. Click the Restore link opposite the file you want to restore.
  3. On the next page, click Yes to the question "Do you want to continue?" to start the restore process.
  4. Click the Continue button at the bottom of the next page, listing details of the backup.
  5. On the next page, select whether you want to restore to the existing course, adding data to it or deleting it first. If you have permission to restore to a new course, the restore page will contain additional options for setting the new course category, short name, full name, and start date.
  6. Choose which activities you want to restore and whether to include user data (option only available for users with the capability moodle/restore:userinfo).
  7. Select course users if you are including user data (option only available for users with the capability moodle/restore:userinfo).
  8. Select appropriate role mappings. The options depend upon the roles you are allowed to assign. By default, teachers are only allowed to assign the roles of non-editing teacher, student, and guest.
  9. Click the Continue button.
  10. On the next page, click the "Restore this course now!" button.
  11. On the next page, the progress of the restore is displayed with a report if it was successful. Click the Continue button.

Restoring a course from a back-up file saved on a local computer: In case you are restoring a course to a new site, please remember to check the course category after restoration. Courses get restored in the default category and you might have to manually move it to the correct category.