Difference between revisions of "Course backup"

Jump to: navigation, search
m
m (category, admin nav)
Line 1: Line 1:
'''Note for Contributors'''
+
==Course backup==
This page should explain what can be seen on the <u>moodlesite.com/backup/backup.php</u> page
 
when backing up a course
 
  
 
+
Generally, you will not have to worry about course backups, as the primary Moodle administrator has set a schedule of site wide backups. However, it is good practice to perform a course backup at regular intervals, and to store this backup locally on your computer.  
Generally, you will not have to worry about backup as the primary Moodle administrator has set a schedule of site wide backups. However, it is a best management practice to perform a course backup at regular intervals, and to store this backup locally on your computer.  
 
  
 
After clicking the Backup link you will see options for specific activities you wish to backup. If you want to back up all the course activities you should choose 'All' above the activities listed. Similarly, if you want to include User Data with each backed-up activity, choose 'All' on the right-hand side of the field.  
 
After clicking the Backup link you will see options for specific activities you wish to backup. If you want to back up all the course activities you should choose 'All' above the activities listed. Similarly, if you want to include User Data with each backed-up activity, choose 'All' on the right-hand side of the field.  
Line 10: Line 7:
 
Below the list of activities you will find five other fields to define:  
 
Below the list of activities you will find five other fields to define:  
  
* Metacourse  
+
* Metacourse - If you are backing up the content of a [[Metacourses|metacourse]], you may enable this option so that that relations between the courses will be exported and the restore process will try to rebuild them in the destination server.
 
+
* Users - Whether you want to backup the content concerning all the registered students in your site, only course students or no students at all.  
If you are backing up the content of the course, which is a metacourse (a "parent course" to other "child courses" - that means that students belonging to any "child courses" are automatically enrolled in that course), you may enable this option so that that relations between the courses will be exported and the restore process will try to rebuild them in the destination server.
 
 
 
* Users  
 
 
 
Whether you want to backup the content concerning all the registered students in your site, only course students or no students at all.  
 
 
 
 
* Logs  
 
* Logs  
 
+
* User files - If you enable this option, it will export, for now, user photos (as they are all the files related to one user currently).  
Whether you want to backup the information about the students' logs
 
 
 
* User files  
 
 
 
If you enable this option, it will export, for now, user photos (as they are all the files related to one user currently).  
 
 
 
 
* Course files  
 
* Course files  
  
Enabling this option will export all course files.  
+
After choosing what you want to backup, click on Continue. You will receive a notice with the backup details showing the total number of items within each category/module to be backed up. Scrolling to the bottom and clicking Continue, you will back up your course materials. You should see, again, the backup details followed by a message "Backup completed successfully." Clicking on Continue, you will receive a list of all the backup files in your course.
 
 
 
 
  
After choosing what you want to backup, click on Continue. You will receive a notice with the backup details showing the total number of items within each category/module to be backed up. Scrolling to the bottom and clicking Continue, you will back up your course materials: you should see, again, the backup details followed by a message "Backup completed successfully." Clicking on Continue, you will receive a list of all the backup files in your course.
+
{{Course admin}}
 +
[[Category:Teacher]]

Revision as of 21:37, 28 December 2005

Course backup

Generally, you will not have to worry about course backups, as the primary Moodle administrator has set a schedule of site wide backups. However, it is good practice to perform a course backup at regular intervals, and to store this backup locally on your computer.

After clicking the Backup link you will see options for specific activities you wish to backup. If you want to back up all the course activities you should choose 'All' above the activities listed. Similarly, if you want to include User Data with each backed-up activity, choose 'All' on the right-hand side of the field.

Below the list of activities you will find five other fields to define:

  • Metacourse - If you are backing up the content of a metacourse, you may enable this option so that that relations between the courses will be exported and the restore process will try to rebuild them in the destination server.
  • Users - Whether you want to backup the content concerning all the registered students in your site, only course students or no students at all.
  • Logs
  • User files - If you enable this option, it will export, for now, user photos (as they are all the files related to one user currently).
  • Course files

After choosing what you want to backup, click on Continue. You will receive a notice with the backup details showing the total number of items within each category/module to be backed up. Scrolling to the bottom and clicking Continue, you will back up your course materials. You should see, again, the backup details followed by a message "Backup completed successfully." Clicking on Continue, you will receive a list of all the backup files in your course.

Template:Course admin