Difference between revisions of "Course backup"

Jump to: navigation, search
Line 3: Line 3:
 
  when backing up a course
 
  when backing up a course
  
''unfinished''
 
  
Generally, you will not have to worry about backup as the primary Moodle administrator has set a schedule of site wide backups. However, it is a best management practice to perform a course backup at regular intervals, and to store this backup locally on your computer. After clicking the Backup link you will see options for specific activities you wish to backup.
+
Generally, you will not have to worry about backup as the primary Moodle administrator has set a schedule of site wide backups. However, it is a best management practice to perform a course backup at regular intervals, and to store this backup locally on your computer.  
  
+
After clicking the Backup link you will see options for specific activities you wish to backup. If you want to back up all the course activities you should choose 'All' above the activities listed. Similarly, if you want to include User Data with each backed-up activity, choose 'All' on the right-hand side of the field.  
Include all items, but select None from the Users: pull-down menu and No from the User Files: menu.
 
  
 +
Below the list of activities you will find five other fields to define:
  
Click on Continue. You will receive a notice that the backup will proceed without user data, along with the backup details showing the total number of items within each category/module to be backed up.
+
METACOURSE - if you are backing up the content of the course, which is a metacourse (a "parent course" to other "child courses" - that means that students belonging to any "child courses" are automatically enrolled in that course), you may enable this option so that that relations between the courses will be exported and the restore process will try to rebuild them in the destination server.
Scroll to the bottom and click Continue. Your course materials will be backed up and you should eventually see a message stating "Backup completed successfully."  
 
Click on Continue.
 
In the file list you are presented with, right-click (or control-click on a Macintosh) on the name of the file (eg., backup-bio-121-20050131-1354.zip) and choose Save link as... or Save Target As...
 
Save the file to your computer's desktop or anywhere you can find it easily. Remember where you saved the file.
 
Click the small check-box in front of the backup file name you created. From the With chosen files... pull-down menu, choose Delete completely.
 
  
 +
USERS - whether you want to backup the content concerning all the registered students in your site, only course students or no students at all.
  
When asked to confirm whether you want to delete the backup file, click Yes.
+
LOGS - whether you want to backup the information about the students' logs
 +
 
 +
USER FILES - if you enable this option, it will export, for now, user photos (as they are all the files related to one user currently).
 +
 
 +
COURSE FILES - enabling this option will export all course files.
 +
 
 +
 
 +
After choosing what you want to backup, click on Continue. You will receive a notice with the backup details showing the total number of items within each category/module to be backed up. Scrolling to the bottom and clicking Continue, you will back up your course materials: you should see, again, the backup details followed by a message "Backup completed successfully." Clicking on Continue, you will receive a list of all the backup files in your course.

Revision as of 17:51, 18 July 2005

Note for Contributors
This page should explain what can be seen on the moodlesite.com/backup/backup.php page
when backing up a course


Generally, you will not have to worry about backup as the primary Moodle administrator has set a schedule of site wide backups. However, it is a best management practice to perform a course backup at regular intervals, and to store this backup locally on your computer.

After clicking the Backup link you will see options for specific activities you wish to backup. If you want to back up all the course activities you should choose 'All' above the activities listed. Similarly, if you want to include User Data with each backed-up activity, choose 'All' on the right-hand side of the field.

Below the list of activities you will find five other fields to define:

METACOURSE - if you are backing up the content of the course, which is a metacourse (a "parent course" to other "child courses" - that means that students belonging to any "child courses" are automatically enrolled in that course), you may enable this option so that that relations between the courses will be exported and the restore process will try to rebuild them in the destination server.

USERS - whether you want to backup the content concerning all the registered students in your site, only course students or no students at all.

LOGS - whether you want to backup the information about the students' logs

USER FILES - if you enable this option, it will export, for now, user photos (as they are all the files related to one user currently).

COURSE FILES - enabling this option will export all course files.


After choosing what you want to backup, click on Continue. You will receive a notice with the backup details showing the total number of items within each category/module to be backed up. Scrolling to the bottom and clicking Continue, you will back up your course materials: you should see, again, the backup details followed by a message "Backup completed successfully." Clicking on Continue, you will receive a list of all the backup files in your course.