Enrolment FAQ

Revision as of 12:18, 10 June 2008 by Howard Miller (talk | contribs) (Why are all students enrolled in all courses?)

Jump to: navigation, search

Note: You are currently viewing documentation for Moodle 3.1. Up-to-date documentation for the latest stable version of Moodle is probably available here: Enrolment FAQ.

Template:FAQ

How do I prevent users from enrolling themselves on courses?

Set an enrolment key in the course settings.

Why are users being unenrolled for no apparent reason?

Please check the following:

  • The longtimenosee variable in Administration > Server > Cleanup (or Administration > Configuration > Variables in Moodle 1.6) which specifies the time limit for which, if students haven't logged in, they are unenrolled from courses.
  • The Enrolment duration in the Course settings which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed.

(See Unenrolment for a full list of what controls unenrolment.)

Why are all students enrolled in all courses?

If the default role for all users in Site Administration > Users > Permissions > User policies is set to student rather than authenticated user (the default setting), this will result in all students being enrolled in all courses.

Another possibility is that users are assigned the system role of student. Check Administration > Users > Permissions > Assign system roles and unassign users as necessary, then reassign them the role of student in the course context.

Why can't I select "External Database" from the enrolment plugins drop-down menu in the course settings?

Only interactive enrolment methods may be chosen in the course settings. Non-interactive enrolment plugins are set for the entire site in Site Administration > Enrolment. Please refer to the interactive enrolment section of Enrolment plugins.

How do I enable students to unenrol themselves from courses?

  1. Access Site Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles.
  2. Click the edit icon opposite the student role.
  3. Change the moodle/role:unassignself capability from not set to allow.
  4. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.

(See Unenrolment for instructions on how to enable students to unenrol themselves from a particular course.)

How do I prevent teachers from unenrolling themselves from their course by mistake?

  1. Access Site Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles.
  2. Click the edit icon opposite the teacher role.
  3. Change the moodle/role:unassignself capability from allow to not set.
  4. Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.

How do I change the spelling of "enrol" to "enroll"?

Simply install the American English language pack (en_us) then choose it as the default language for the site.