Difference between revisions of "Unenrolment"

Jump to: navigation, search

Note: You are currently viewing documentation for Moodle 2.2. Up-to-date documentation for the latest stable version is available here: Unenrolment.

m (change setting link)
(copied from 2.3 docs)
 
(12 intermediate revisions by 6 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
Unenrolment is the process of not allowing a student to return to a course. Usually this process does not purge student information, just access.
+
{{Course enrolment}}
 +
Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:
  
==Site and course settings for unenrolment==
+
* The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
 +
* For self enrolment, the 'Unenrol inactive after' setting in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment'' can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
 +
* An [[Enrolment plugins|enrolment plugin]] may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron
  
Unenrolment can be controlled by the following:
+
In addition, users with the appropriate permission can unenrol themself from a course.  
* The ''longtimenosee'' variable in ''Administration > Configuration > [[Variables]]'' (or ''Administration > Server > Cleanup'' in 1.8), which specifies the time limit for which, if students haven't logged in, they are unenrolled from courses.
 
* The ''Enrolment duration'' in the [[Course_settings|course settings]], which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed.
 
* An [[Enrolment plugins]] may decide that the enrolment has expired. For example, a user name  for a course is not present in an [[LDAP enrolment|LDAP]] database, or if a [[Flat file]] is processed by Cron.
 
* The capability [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]], which allows a user to unassign themself from a role in the given context (see below).
 
  
==Student unenrolment==
+
==Enrolment duration==
  
By default, students are unable to unenrol themselves from courses.
+
The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment''. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users''.
  
To enable students to unenrol themselves from any course on the site that they are enrolled on:
+
The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment''.
#Access ''Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles''.
 
#Click the edit icon opposite the student role.
 
#Change the [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] capability from not set to allow.
 
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
 
  
To enable students to unenrol themselves from a particular course:[[Image:Course admin block showing unenrol link.png|frame|Course administration block for a student, showing unenrol link]]
+
==Bulk unenrolment==
#Follow the Assign roles link in the course administration block.
 
#Follow the "Override roles" link. (In Moodle 1.9 onwards, click the "Override permissions" tab.)
 
#Select the Student role.
 
#Set the capability [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] to allow.
 
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
 
  
Note: By default, only administrators are able to override permissions. Instructions on enabling teachers to override permissions can be found in [[Override permissions]].
+
Users who were previously manually enrolled may be unenrolled in bulk via ''Settings > Course administraton > Users > Enrolment methods'' then clicking on the 'Enrol' users icon.
  
The role change will take effect immediately in Moodle 1.9, or when students next login in Moodle 1.7 and 1.8. Students will have an "Unenrol me from the course" link in the course administration block and an "Unenrol me from the course" button on their profile page.
+
==Unenrolment and user data==
  
==Teacher unenrolment==
+
When a user is unenrolled, their grades are not deleted. If a user is unenrolled accidentally, their grades can be restored by going to ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users'', clicking 'Enrol users' and making sure that the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox is ticked in the enrolment options before re-enrolling the user.
 
 
By default, teachers may unenrol themselves from courses in which they are assigned the role of teacher.
 
 
 
To prevent teachers from unenrolling themselves by mistake:
 
 
 
#Access ''Administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles''.
 
#Click the edit icon opposite the teacher role.
 
#Change the [[Capabilities/moodle/role:unassignself|moodle/role:unassignself]] capability from allow to not set.
 
#Click the "Save changes" button at the bottom of the page.
 
  
 
==See also==
 
==See also==
 +
[http://www.screencast.com/t/XtPhA6w2SM Screencast: how to bulk unenrol students from a course.]
 +
[[Category:Site administration]]
  
*[[Enrolment plugins]]
+
[[eu:Desmatrikulatzea]]
*[[Enrolment FAQ]]
 
 
 
[[Category:Enrolment]]
 
 
 
 
[[fr:Désinscription]]
 
[[fr:Désinscription]]
 +
[[de:Abmelden aus einem Kurs]]

Latest revision as of 13:59, 3 August 2012

Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:

  • The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
  • For self enrolment, the 'Unenrol inactive after' setting in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
  • An enrolment plugin may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron

In addition, users with the appropriate permission can unenrol themself from a course.

Enrolment duration

The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users.

The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment.

Bulk unenrolment

Users who were previously manually enrolled may be unenrolled in bulk via Settings > Course administraton > Users > Enrolment methods then clicking on the 'Enrol' users icon.

Unenrolment and user data

When a user is unenrolled, their grades are not deleted. If a user is unenrolled accidentally, their grades can be restored by going to Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users, clicking 'Enrol users' and making sure that the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox is ticked in the enrolment options before re-enrolling the user.

See also

Screencast: how to bulk unenrol students from a course.