Difference between revisions of "Unenrolment"

Jump to: navigation, search

Note: You are currently viewing documentation for Moodle 2.2. Up-to-date documentation for the latest stable version is available here: Unenrolment.

 
(copied from 2.3 docs)
 
(23 intermediate revisions by 7 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
To unenrol from a course, a student needs to:
+
{{Course enrolment}}
# Go to the course.
+
Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:
# In the Administration block, click on the “Unenrol me from …” link (if visible) to unenrol from the current course.
 
  
However, by default, this link is visible only to those whose roles are "teacher" or above. There is a good reason for this: Normally, to unenrol, a student is supposed to talk to a teacher or administrator.
+
* The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
 +
* For self enrolment, the 'Unenrol inactive after' setting in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment'' can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
 +
* An [[Enrolment plugins|enrolment plugin]] may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron
  
If this student self-unenrolment feature is needed, the administrator needs to:
+
In addition, users with the appropriate permission can unenrol themself from a course.  
# Go to ► Administration ► Users ► Permissions ► Define roles.
 
# Edit Student permissions.
 
# Set Unassign own roles moodle/role:unassignself to "Allow".
 
  
NOTE: The administrator can do this for the whole site or just for particular courses by using the roles links in each context. For example, in a course, by clicking on the Override Roles tab and changing the respective settings.
+
==Enrolment duration==
 +
 
 +
The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment''. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users''.
 +
 
 +
The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment''.
 +
 
 +
==Bulk unenrolment==
 +
 
 +
Users who were previously manually enrolled may be unenrolled in bulk via ''Settings > Course administraton > Users > Enrolment methods'' then clicking on the 'Enrol' users icon.
 +
 
 +
==Unenrolment and user data==
 +
 
 +
When a user is unenrolled, their grades are not deleted. If a user is unenrolled accidentally, their grades can be restored by going to ''Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users'', clicking 'Enrol users' and making sure that the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox is ticked in the enrolment options before re-enrolling the user.
  
 
==See also==
 
==See also==
[[Category:Student]]
+
[http://www.screencast.com/t/XtPhA6w2SM Screencast: how to bulk unenrol students from a course.]
 +
[[Category:Site administration]]
 +
 
 +
[[eu:Desmatrikulatzea]]
 +
[[fr:Désinscription]]
 +
[[de:Abmelden aus einem Kurs]]

Latest revision as of 13:59, 3 August 2012

Unenrolment is the process of removing users from a course. It is controlled by one or more of the following:

  • The enrolment duration, which unenrols students after the specified time has elapsed
  • For self enrolment, the 'Unenrol inactive after' setting in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment can be set to specify a time after which a student is automatically unenrolled from a course if they haven't accessed it in that time
  • An enrolment plugin may decide that the enrolment has expired, for example, a user name for a course is not present in an LDAP database, or if a Flat file is processed by Cron

In addition, users with the appropriate permission can unenrol themself from a course.

Enrolment duration

The default enrolment duration for manual enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Manual enrolment. It can be amended from the default value when enrolling users manually in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users.

The enrolment duration for self enrolment can be set in Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolment methods > Self enrolment.

Bulk unenrolment

Users who were previously manually enrolled may be unenrolled in bulk via Settings > Course administraton > Users > Enrolment methods then clicking on the 'Enrol' users icon.

Unenrolment and user data

When a user is unenrolled, their grades are not deleted. If a user is unenrolled accidentally, their grades can be restored by going to Settings > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users, clicking 'Enrol users' and making sure that the 'Recover user's old grades if possible' checkbox is ticked in the enrolment options before re-enrolling the user.

See also

Screencast: how to bulk unenrol students from a course.