Difference between revisions of "Course restore"

Jump to: navigation, search

Note: You are currently viewing documentation for Moodle 2.0. Up-to-date documentation for the latest stable version is available here: Course restore.

Line 5: Line 5:
 
  The actual restore process should be explained [[backup/restore|here]]
 
  The actual restore process should be explained [[backup/restore|here]]
  
 +
Clicking on Restore, you will get transferred to the page with the list of the files you have backed up, the information of their sizes, the last time they were modified and the actions you can undertake with those files (you can unzip them, get a list of zipped files, restore or rename them).
  
''unfinished''
+
If you choose to restore any of the files, you will move to another page with the notice: "Later in this process you will have a choice of adding this backup to an existing course or creating a completely new course." Clicking Continue will transfer you to another page with the backup details, i.e. the list of activities you are going to restore. Clicking Continue will transfer you to another page, in which you will be given the choice of restoring the backup files to the current course with the addition of data to the course or with deleting first the current course.
 
 
If you have backup files you wish to restore to the system, click on this button.
 
 
 
 
 
Make sure you are logged into Moodle and looking at the new (usually empty) course into which you want to transfer materials.
 
In the Administration menu block, click on Restore...
 
 
 
 
 
Click on Upload a file.  
 
Click on Browse... and locate the backup file you had created above and saved to your desktop (or other location).
 
Choose the backup file you had made and then click Upload this file. You should receive the message "File uploaded successfully."
 
 
 
If you receive a message stating the file is too large to be uploaded, please contact root@stolaf.edu and let them know which course you are backing up and which course it needs to be restored to and they can transfer the backup file for you. Do not continue with these instructions until you hear back from root.
 
Click on Restore.
 
When asked whether you want to continue, click Yes.
 
The details of your backup will be displayed. Click on Continue.
 
In the Restore to: selection box, choose whether to delete the materials in the current course first or to add materials to any existing materials. The default -- and recommended -- option is to add data/materials to the current course.
 
Click on Continue.
 
Click on Restore this course now! The restoration process will begin. Allow it to continue until you see the message "Restore completed successfully."
 
Click on Continue.
 
In the Administration menu block, click Files...
 
Click on the backupdata folder.
 
Click the small check-box in front of the backup file name you created. From the With chosen files... pull-down menu, choose Delete completely.
 
 
 
 
 
When asked to confirm whether you want to delete the backup file, click Yes.
 
You may now customize the materials for the new course/term. Don't forget to update due dates, availability of quizzes, etc.
 

Revision as of 19:57, 18 July 2005

Note for Contributors
This page should explain what can be seen on the moodlesite.com/files/index/backupdata.php page
just before starting the restore process

The actual restore process should be explained here

Clicking on Restore, you will get transferred to the page with the list of the files you have backed up, the information of their sizes, the last time they were modified and the actions you can undertake with those files (you can unzip them, get a list of zipped files, restore or rename them).

If you choose to restore any of the files, you will move to another page with the notice: "Later in this process you will have a choice of adding this backup to an existing course or creating a completely new course." Clicking Continue will transfer you to another page with the backup details, i.e. the list of activities you are going to restore. Clicking Continue will transfer you to another page, in which you will be given the choice of restoring the backup files to the current course with the addition of data to the course or with deleting first the current course.