What is a repository?
A repostitory can be thought of as a storage area from which users can retrieve files to add to their course. There are several repositories enabled by default, such as Server files which contains files from other courses a user has access to, or Upload a file which allows the user to search their computer or USB drive for a file to upload. Other repositories include Google Docs,or Flickr. See Repositories for more information.
How can I enable repositories in Moodle?
Repositories can be enabled by a site administrator in Settings > Site administration > Plugins > Repositories > Manage repositories.
All enabled and visible repositories will appear in the file picker.
How can I delete an embedded file previously added using the file picker?
There is no need to do anything, as any unused files are detected and then deleted automatically after a period of time. Users cannot delete files manually, since they may be used elsewhere.
Draft files are kept for 4 days and then moved to trash. When an activity or resource which uses a file is deleted, the file is moved immediately to trash. Trash is emptied i.e. files are deleted completely once a day.
If I add a file (File resources) to a page, then delete the File resource, will the file I added remain in my Recent files list?
No. The file will not be available.
How do I create a new repository on my site?
You can create a new repository that will show up on the file picker. See File system repository.
How can I prevent students from accessing the private files repository?
If you want to prevent students from accessing it but still wish other users to access it, follow these steps:
- In Settings>Site administration>Users>Permissions>Define Roles create a new role (such as "no private files") and assign it in the system context. (See Creating custom roles for help creating a new role)
- Search for and set the capabilities moodle/user:manageownfiles and repository/user:view to prohibit.
- In Settngs>Site administration>Users>Permissions>Assign system roles, give this role to the student(s) you do not wish to access private files.
- They may be enrolled as normal students in courses, but will not be able to use their private files.
What happens if a teacher adds a file from their private files to the course and they later leave and their account is closed?
As long as a file is used in a context, such as a course, the file should remains available in that context. (copied from forum thread thanks to Andrea Bicciolo
That holds true when a teacher copies a file in a course from his My private files area and also when a teacher creates an alias/shortcut: in the latter case if a teacher deletes his files from My private files area that are used as alias/shortc