Restore 2.0

Jump to: navigation, search

Note: You are currently viewing documentation for Moodle 1.9. Up-to-date documentation for the latest stable version is available here: Restore 2.0.

Moodle 2.0


The restore process in Moodle 2.0 is more robust than earlier versions and looks different. Like the backup process in 2.0, the restore process has a bread crumb to indicate progress.

  1. Confirm
  2. Destination
  3. Settings
  4. Schema
  5. Review
  6. Process
  7. Complete

Select file to restore

Shows Course backup and private backup areas

After clicking on the restore link, there are 3 areas to find or select a file:

  • Import a file - with a browse and restore buttons
  • Course backup area - with a manage backup button
  • User private backup area - for Anonymize user backups with a manage backup button

In any of these areas it is possible to upload with the manage file button. There are "Download" and "restore" links next to each file. After selecting the "Restore" link next to a file, the actual restore process starts.

Overview of restore process

After selecting the file (mbz) to restore, the confirmation screen will show the backup details, the backup settings and the course details. This is followed by the continue button.

The destination allows the user to restore it as a new course, the current course or another existing course.

The settings screen allows the user to make adjustment to the backup. For example, do not check the enrolled users box, so no users will be imported into the course.

The schema screen will allow the user to change the name of the course and select parts of the course they want to include or not include. As with previous version, user data options are next to each activity. A red X indicates these things were not selected in the settings screen.

The review screen shows the backup settings and course settings. The "Preform restore" button starts the restore process which has been defined in other screens.

The next screen will be the 'complete' screen, telling you that the continue button will take you to the course you just restored.

See also